Redo

Been busy.
Came to a realization while helplessly trying to find an effective way to color walls- just stop trying. Yeah, no giving up in the Maclab, but sometimes it’s more advantageous to just step back and return to it later. I’m still a first year for Digital Arts (Did 3D last year), so there’s still plenty for me to learn.

So I ended up working again with the gradient mesh again. I took a whack at it earlier within the semester, and even though it was a nice attempt, I had no clue that I was setting myself up for a huge failure. Lucky for me, Spoon Graphics had a recent article regarding 20 tutorials to help master the mesh tool. So I grabbed the first tutorial yesterday and gave it a shot. I’ve got a much better (Will edit by the end of the day or so) understanding with how it works now. It looks like I’ve found the solution to an earlier project. Mesh portrait mark ii?

EDIT:

This becomes a lot more fun when you actually know what you’re doing. Was planning on finishing this today, but oh well. Should be done by tomorrow.

– – – – –

Brief updates. I haven’t just been sitting around doing nothing. Aside from slowly adding and fixing new things on my Portfolio, here’s a few little things I’ve worked on.


The shark was originally a 2 or so minute sketch with the brush tool, and I decided to take it in and color it. The second, I can’t really explain just yet. It’ll make sense eventually. :)

Christian

~ by Christian Lim on January 21, 2010.

3 Responses to “Redo”

  1. I hope you master it.

  2. The shoe is turning out good though; keep it up.

Leave a Reply

 
