Learning

I have to honestly say, I’m privileged to have Mr. Mckee as a teacher.  He is one of the coolest teachers at Valhalla that you will ever meet.

During class, he brought to everyone’s attention a quote someone left on the board, stating-
“The more you learn, the more you know.
The more you know know, the more you forget.
The more you forget, the less you know.
So why learn?!!”

His rebuttal,

“Because your rate of learning is still greater than your rate of forgetting.  Therefore, your knowledge has a net positive accumulation.  Without learning, you may forget at a lower rate over time, but your overall knowledge diminishes until the point where you die.  So “why learn” is self evident.”


X= coefficient of learning
Y= coefficient of forgetting
t=time

Yes, he even included that equation for us.

So what’s the point?  Point is we’re constantly learning.  I learned a bundle of new tricks today.
One being, the importance of post-production. I’ve modeled a ship and recently got the heads up that it was going to be printed.  Cool beans!  Problem was, I had to re-size it to make it bigger.

Now that original picture, as pretty as it is, has gone through hardly any post-production work.  I’ve tried, but it seems that hardly anything I do to it shows any change at all in Photoshop.  I took my complaint up with Danny, and he suggested I run it through Camera Raw.

Wow.

I have to say, I’m much more impressed with the outcome this time around than the original. EDIT: Picture with postproduction It’s a small improvement, but just enough to make it better.

Now that covers that. Something new that was brought to my attention involved the actual modeling of the ship I made. I was told that I could have done less modeling through a mapping technique on Cinema. I look forward on learning these things in the nearby future.  May Will come in handy later.

No new update on the perspective project for today.  Illustrator was killing itself today with the hundreds/thousands of points the crystallize tool created.  I’m going to need to find a work around for that without having myself force quit the program over and over.  :(

~ by Christian Lim on January 13, 2010.

4 Responses to “Learning”

  1. My brain hurts. That’s enough introspection for the year.

  2. Always take your work through Camera Raw and introspection is always a good thing keep it up.

  3. I also had the privilege of hearing this from Mr. McKee himself.

    He is simply awesome.

  4. […] students have begun blogging in the past month (see links in right sidebar). While many include thoughtful posts and intriguing projects, three blogs in particular stand apart. Fadi George, Philip Behnam, and […]

Leave a Reply

 
